Temptation

My brother hid a couple cakes from his boys in our fridge this week.  They were for the parties he was planning. I really had no problem with that, until today … three days later.

You have no idea what happens to you when you keep seeing a Black Forest Chocolate cake each time you open your fridge.

cake inside fridgeI was okay with the cake before today, but now I keep thinking about it. I had thoughts such as:
“Maybe I could eat the icing off the sides of the cover.”
“Maybe I could eat some of the crumbs … he’ll never know.”
“What would he really do if I had a slice of his cake?”

When he came by today, I told him that I couldn’t continue with this temptation anymore.  And he, without even asking me what I was tempted with, told me to deal with it.  And so I did.

When he realized that it was the cake, he with his kind heart said that it was okay for me to have some, but I should take a normal slice.

Black Forest Chocolate Cake I think this slice was normal for me. 🙂

So here’s the real reason for being tempted … it begins with the eye.  They say that “it starts with the eye gate”.

Be careful of what you keep looking at.

How do you deal with temptations?  Pray to God for help. Seek a way to escape it.  If you can avoid looking … do so. Replace your thoughts with scripture.

Every test that you have experienced is the kind that normally comes to people. But God keeps his promise, and he will not allow you to be tested beyond your power to remain firm; at the time you are put to the test, he will give you the strength to endure it, and so provide you with a way out. (1 Corinthians 10:13)

Leave a Reply

