Papaya Leaf Juice – I Drank It for Chikungunya

When I awoke on the morning of Sunday, 12th October 2014, I found myself aching from pains in areas that were supposedly healed long ago. I struggled to get up, and after the count of three, I pulled myself up from the bed. When I stood up, I almost fainted; pain in my left ankle caused me to limp around. I also had pain in the joints of my toes and in the top joint of all my fingers. I had a fever of 100.3o and was extremely weak and dizzy. You know then that I got it . . . yes, I got Chikungunya.

After taking a multivitamin, I hobbled outdoors. It was drizzling lightly, but I went and picked papaya leaves from the tree growing outside our gate just the same. I wanted to make the juice they said may increased healing in people infected with Chikungunya, Dengue Fever, and recently, the Zika virus (see links below).  These illnesses are transmitted by Aedes. aegypti mosquito.  All it takes is one bite from an infected mosquito.

papaya leaf juiceThe papaya leaf juice is said to increase the blood platelet count. I understand too that the “Papaya Leaf Juice Cure” completely eliminates the crippling joint pains that kick in after the fever ends. I made the papaya leaf juice and drank about quarter cup of it twice during my illness.

To make the juice, use only the green parts of the papaya leaf and use a spoon to crush them in a strainer. Add water to get the juice from the crushed leaves. The juice will taste just like how a leaf should taste, ha ha ha, and slightly bitter. After drinking the juice, you may eat something else … anything, to remove the taste from your mouth.

With Chikungunya (Chik-v),  I experienced slight fever and had joint pains for three days. I sweated profusely on the third or fourth day; and I had no more pains after that.

2014-10-12 11.57.55bWhen I had pains in the first three days of Chik-v, I could not pull myself up to move about. When I awoke in the mornings I had to roll in my bed like a three-month old infant, then struggled to raise myself up. I kept saying to myself “By Jesus’ stripes I am healed, by Jesus’ stripes I am healed.” I had to believe I would live through this. A few persons lost their lives due to complications from Chikungunya. During this time, I refused to stay sick in my room and spent my days sleeping on the couch.

For the first two weeks of this illness, I was extremely weak, but I kept myself hydrated. We were advised to drink at least two quarts of liquid each day and take Vitamin C supplements. My brother gave me a six-pack Malta-plus which is filled with Vitamin B. It helped. With this disease, my gums became inflamed and were dark pink in colour, there were also mouth ulcers on both sides of my tongue (I used hydrogen peroxide to heal my mouth). I also had swollen fingers, swollen toes and I experienced brief, sharp shooting pains in my right big toe and in the right eye. Anyway, I was lucky to not have any headaches, rashes, diarrhea, or prolonged joint pains. Thank you Lord.

With Chikungunya, I moved from no appetite in the first three days to a voracious appetite that lasted for weeks. I was always hungry and my stomach was like a bottom-less pit. Shockingly, all that eating gave me zero energy as I was still lethargic. Gradually, I returned from being a starved, weak Chik-v victim, to being able-bodied, working a little, and being almost my normal self again.

My advice for people with Chikungunya is to keep yourself hydrated, take your Vitamin C, rest as much as possible, and visit your doctor for advice if you have illnesses like heart, lung or kidney disease, high blood pressure and diabetes. When you return to working and driving around, please do not over-exert yourself.  I understand persons can have the Chikungunya virus in their bodies for up to two years. Also, try having the papaya leaf juice.

Links:
A Natural Zika Virus Treatment
Papaya for Chikungunya and Dengue
About Chikungunya

Leave a Reply

