Photo: Looking Up

I had to force myself to rest today; I kept going and going like the “energizer bunny”. As I lay in the couch, I’m reminded of the verses in Mark chapter 6: 31-32.

“And he (Jesus)  said unto them, Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while: for there were many coming and going, and they had no leisure so much as to eat.  And they departed into a desert place by ship privately.”

Our pastor used to say to us: “If you don’t come apart … you will fall apart”.

While resting I could do nothing but look up at the grain patterns on our pine wood ceiling; and I thought to myself “That ceiling is 40 years old and still going strong. “pine wood ceilingThe psalmist King David also wrote about looking up . . . beyond ceilings, and above the hills  for help.

In Psalm 121, he encourages us to look up to the Lord who made heaven and earth. Seek help from the Lord who neither slumber nor sleeps. It is He that is our keeper and shade; the One who will preserve us from all evil.  The Lord shall preserves our souls.

Take some time to read Psalm 121 today.

Leave a Reply

