Peanut Drops, With Extras

I like eating my peanuts in a variety of ways, and one such way is as peanut drops.

Today, the usual ingredients of peanuts, chopped ginger root, and sugar . . . also included diced carrots, pumpkin seeds, 1 teaspoon chopped scotch bonnet pepper, and raisins.ingredients for peanut dropsI usually wash away the salt from the packed peanuts when making my drops, and I use a banana leaf (or leaf of the coco plant etc.) to scoop my peanut drops on.

scalding leafThe first thing I do when preparing my peanut drops is to scald the leaf in order to prepare it for the drops. This is done to prevent them from sticking unto the leaf.

Once this is done, I put it aside. (We also use a scalded banana leaf when preparing coconut drops.)

I understand that some persons use greased paper or moistened foil sheets when making their drops, but I’ve never done so.

I then combine all the ingredients – except the raisins, with water, in a saucepan and bring it to boil over high heat. (Raisins usually get soggy when they’re cooked.) Cooking peanut dropsIt is important to keep stirring the ingredients while they are being boiled to prevent the mixture from sticking to the pot. Once the mixture becomes sticky, I mix in the raisins. peanut dropsWhen there is no more watery liquid, but a sticky paste, I drop spoonfuls of peanut drops unto the prepared leaf.dropping peanut drops on leafIf the mixture is already hardening unto the spoon, I use another spoon to scoop the peanut drops from the mixing spoon unto the leaf. peanut drops on leafThe peanut drops are kept on the leaf until they are cool and hardened.

Sometimes, when I’m impatient, I place the leaf in the freezer to speed up the cooling process.

For me, peanut drops are a type of comfort food, and like popcorn, I munch on them when watching a movie etc. Although they are bit too sweet, everyone I know enjoy peanut drops. peanut drops

Leave a Reply

