Summer Time Poinciana Blossoms

It’s that time of year again when the Poinciana trees in our neighbourhood begin displaying their magnificent red-orange colour blossoms.  We can see these trees blooming from our balcony and this is one of my favourite sceneries.poinciana trees in bloomThe Poinciana tree (Delonix regia) is also known as Royal Poinciana or Flame tree; and just seeing its blossoms cause me to be joyful as they bring back happy summer memories. Poinciana blossoms also remind me of the instrumental “Theme From A Summer Place” by Percy Faith.

Decades ago, when we had just one channel on our black and white television sets in Jamaica, TV programming would begin earlier in July since students would be on summer holidays. Every summer, when we switched on the TV, we had the memorable experience of hearing the theme song “Theme From A Summer Place” ; feeling the warm summer breeze in the afternoons; and seeing the Poinciana trees full of red-orange blossoms. It was a time to be carefree, to relax, to laugh and enjoy ourselves.


My heart is bursting with happiness when I remember those days. So readers,  this is why one of my favourite colours is Poinciana red-orange. And this is why no matter where I am and no matter who I’m with . . . I will always do my special little dance whenever I hear the instrumental “Theme From A Summer Place”. I love summer time.

One thought on “Summer Time Poinciana Blossoms

Leave a Reply

