Jack Dumpling

It’s been donkey’s years since I’ve eaten Jack Dumpling; as children, my father used to make it for breakfast on Saturday mornings. He told us then, that his granny loved making Jack Dumplings; his granny is my great-grand mother, Maria Howard.

A Jack Dumpling is a very large Jamaican Johnny Cake, and a Johnny Cake is a fried dumpling.

Jamaican Jack dumpling
Jamaican Jack dumpling

Once your Jack Dumpling is fried, you slice it up (like a pizza) and share it around. Jamaican Jack dumplingTo prepare the Jack Dumpling, you will need . . . all purpose flour, cornmeal, baking powder, water, and cooking oil for frying. This is how I make my Jack Dumplings:

  1. Place seven heaped tablespoons of flour and one heaped tablespoon of cornmeal into a mixing bowl.
  2. Add one leveled tablespoon of baking powder to the flour and cornmeal.
    (Note: The ratio for making fried dumplings is 1 tablespoon baking powder to 1 cup flour.)
  3. Mix all ingredients thoroughly.
  4. Add water sparingly as you knead the ingredients into a stiff dough.
  5. Heat the cooking oil in a frying pan, then reduce the heat.
  6. Roll dough on a floured surface to desired size, then place into frying pan. Cook over low to medium heat until you’re sure the dumpling is cooked thoroughly, and both sides of the dumpling are golden brown.
  7. Remove from pan, cut into slices, and serve. (Makes two servings)

Jamaican Jack dumplingToday’s photo:
My meal of Jack Dumpling, steamed Callaloo, and boiled sausage. Jamaican Jack dumplingPS
This is similar to how I make my Johnny Cakes and Fried Festival.

For my Johnny Cakes, I use 8 heaped tablespoons of flour and no cornmeal when making my dough. I usually get eight fried dumplings.

And for my Fried Festival, I add a tablespoon of sugar to the ingredients.

Leave a Reply

