First Week of February
Day 32 in 2021

We have Red Paper wasps living in our hill which I seldom ever see. However, I recently found one of them feeding on the nectar from the flowers of a wild vine hanging from our rocks.

The Red Paper wasp is also known simply as Red wasp. And the one In today’s photos has yellow markings on its propodeum (part of the thorax) and I’m not sure what species it is.

The Red Paper wasp has a long, red to reddish-brown body and dark coloured wings.

red paper wasp (Polistes perplexus)

I thought that its wings were pretty to look at.


I read that Red Paper wasps are social wasps that are normally active during the daytime and return to their nests at night. They are not aggressive, but the females will sting if threatened.

However, I noticed that the Red Paper wasp will aggressively chase away other Red Paper wasps that want to feed in its feeding territory.

I also read that apart from drinking nectar from flowers, Red Paper wasps also prey on caterpillars in order to feed their larvae.

.
.

Main Source:
https://www.terminix.com/pest-control/wasps/red-wasp/
.
.